Posted in Shutterbug Blues, Verses

Tasting Warmth

16195563_10154568921204177_8640868497383366188_n
“Pan con tomate” – Makati, 22 November 2016

feed me
the flavours
of high
summer:
warm my
lips
with olives,
with tomatoes
ripe
off the
vine;
let my
teeth
break into
crisp skin,
sink into
soft flesh
wantonly.

rivulets
of scarlet
juice
trickle down
my chin
my arms,
drip off
my fingertips
onto your
lips
as in
an ancient
bacchanal;
and drown
me
intoxicate me
with kisses
sweeter
than honey
headier
than wine
that we
might forget
even for
a while
that summer
remains
far off
and the
world
lies still
beneath
winter’s cloak.

feed me
nourish me
sate my
longing
slake my
thirsts.

Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

Leave a Reply

