Posted in Shutterbug Blues, Verses

Rafraîchissement

14238310_10154148362984177_2398673367210912688_n
“Downpour” – Makati, 09 September 2016

let the
rain
pour down
and cleanse
the dust
the dross
the cobwebs
from my
heart
and end
this tiring
melancholy.

let the
lightning
flash bright
like a
ghostly
scribble on
the sky;
let the
thunder
sing in
its basso
profundo
and shake
the world
awake
even as
sleep
wraps its
arms
around me.

let me
make my
way
through the
cold driving
downpour
and seek
my rest
my bed
my refuge
and let
the storm
sing its
lullaby
for me.

Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

Leave a Reply

