Posted in Shutterbug Blues, Uncategorized, Verses

Homecoming

"Under Iron Skies" - Makati, 01 February 2016
“Under Iron Skies” – Makati, 01 February 2016

under an
iron sky
i walk
on these
unlovely streets
skyscrapers
rising on
all sides
smog and
smoke and
cacophony
screeching and
howling and
bawling and
honking
around me.

but i
don’t mind:
this is
my city
my realm –
its vibe
resonates
in my
blood
and in
my bones;
its rhythm
i feel
in every
footfall
on the
pavement.

some say
a fool
am i
for fleeing
that comfort
zone –
but what
comfort
can one
have
when harsh
words
uttered by
sharp tongues
cut into
the heart,
illness
cuts down
even the
heartiest,
and vile
insinuation
poisons even
the gentlest
of us?

let me
start over
regain
my strength
recover
in this
unlovely city
where my
roots are,
where my
story
first began.

Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

Leave a Reply

