Posted in Shutterbug Blues, Uncategorized, Verses

Tiffin

"Cafe Pour Une" - Alabang, 15 August 2015
“Cafe Pour Une” – Alabang, 15 August 2015

(Author’s Note:  I posted a spoken-word rendition of Tiffin over at my Tumblr account earlier today.  Click here to listen to it.)

tiffin

for one:

as the

crowds

swirl and

eddy

around me,

my cup

warms

cold hands.

 

verses

screech to

a halt

in my

head;

pen at

rest,

a pause

considered.

 

and my

mind

plays back

footage

from past

nights

when ale

not coffee

was my

libation

of choice

and stories

poured out

onto lined

sheets,

spiral tome

at the

ready.

 

and you

teasing

with sly

grin,

impish sparkle

in your

eyes,

not quite

bullying,

not quite

pushing

to see

something

come to

life

out of

ink on

paper;

wondering

why i

waste

my heart

my soul

on those

ephemeral

bits of

blarney

for selling

everything

from chalk

to cheese

when –

according to

you –

i ought

to be

setting

the world

on fire

with tales

and epics

and wistful

sonnets

aching to

be read.

 

and my

lips

turn down

pouting

at such

recollection;

i sip

my coffee –

over-sweetened

in my

reverie –

and go

over my

words.

 

i miss

you.

Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

Leave a Reply

