Posted in Art and About, Shutterbug Blues, Verses

Does Not Play Well With Others

"XOXO" from the "Cut and Go" series - Mr. Talion, Germany, 2008
“XOXO” from the “Cut and Go” series – Mr. Talion, Germany, 2008
Don’t hate me for being me,
‘Cause it’s how I’m supposed to be.
Mad or bad,
Silly or sane –
Ain’t none of your beeswax
What I’m gonna do.

 

Don’t mess with what I’m doing –
I don’t poke my nose in yours!
A little madness,
A bit of hellfire –
Whatever it is, mate,
It’ll all be good.

 

Don’t push me around;
I’m not as weak as you think.
Better watch your back,
Better think twice,
Better start running, mate,
‘Cause I will fight back.

 

You can’t bend me,
You can’t break me,
You can’t tend me,
You can’t mend me –
‘Cause I’m my own man,
I got my own style,
Don’t go breaking it –
You’ll regret it.

 

Stay away from me,
Get out of my face!
If you’re not with me,
Then you’re against me –
And it’s none of your beeswax
What I’m planning to do.

 

So don’t push me around;
I’m not your punching bag.
‘Cause I will give as good as I get,
I can live without a regret,
Watch it, mate; watch your back
Watch it good
‘Cause I will fight back.
Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

Leave a Reply

