Posted in Art and About, Verses

Ballade (It’s You)

"The Kiss" - Gustav Klimt, 1907
“The Kiss” – Gustav Klimt, 1907
(Author’s Note: Originally titled It’s You, this poem was part of Reckless Imprudence.  RI was a collection of poems written alongside my novel Puck and Ginger.  Both may be read online via ScribdIncidentally, Gustav Klimt’s The Kiss remains one of my favourite works of art from the Art Nouveau period.)

 

For every smile at the break of day,
There are things I want to say:

 

That we’re meaningful together,
That we’re meaningless apart.
That things work out when you’re with me,
And get shot to hell when you’re not.

 

For every tear shed in sorrow,
I want to hold your hand until the morrow:

 

To shield you from everything,
To save you from anything,
To cherish, to protect
My all, my everything.

 

I’d rather be with you in madness
Than be sane and safe alone;
Turmoil’s more fun when I’m with you,
Sharing the trouble cuts it down.

You are my silence, my safe haven,
You are the calm in the midst of chaos,
You are the peace I have within,
The one I can’t live without.

 

For every ticking second
Of the relentless march of time:

 

I want us to be together,
I want us to be one.
It’s you; it’s you –
My all, my everything.
Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

Leave a Reply

