Posted in Art and About, Shutterbug Blues, Verses

Marionette Me

"Arms from the Sydney Dolls Hospital" - Photo credit: Reuters, 2014
“Arms from the Sydney Dolls Hospital” – Photo credit: Reuters, 2014

tug on my

strings;

play with my

heart.

i am just

another

plaything.

 

toy with my

emotions;

fiddle with my

feelings.

play me like

a doll,

marionette on

strings.

 

i can hide

away

my love;

i can shy

away

from life.

i can

pretend

that it’s

all –

that i am –

that we are –

all right.

 

but, no:

nothing’s

right,

and i ache,

and i weep,

and i mourn

everything,

everyone

i’ve lost.

 

just break me,

be done with

it;

be done with

my life.

tear me

apart,

shatter my

hopes;

burn me to

ashes.

 

end it all.

 

leave me

broken,

leave me

worthless

atop a

pile of

brokenhearted

debris.

 

just stop

the pain;

please:

let it

end.

Author:

Midge started her career in PR writing at seventeen when she began drafting documentaries for a government-run television station in the Philippines. Since then, she made a career in advertising and public relations which ended earlier this year. These days, she works for a corporate governance advocacy in Makati. Aside from what she does for a living and her poetry, she has turned her home kitchen into a personal culinary lab and is currently working on another novel.

Leave a Reply

